Restart vs Replit
Replit is a full development platform with an agent that builds apps, websites, slides and more, priced on effort per request. It suits people who want a real coding environment underneath the AI. Restart hides the environment and keeps the founder's attention on the company.
Replit’s facts are from replit.com as read on September 7, 2026; “not stated” means their page does not say. Restart’s facts are from restart.new/pricing and the docs.
Side by side
| Replit | Restart | |
|---|---|---|
| Calls itself | "Replit Agent"; use cases listed as apps, websites, landing pages, dashboards, prototypes, chatbots. | The AI company builder. |
| Free plan | Starter: daily agent credits up to a monthly cap, built-in database, one published project (removed after 30 days per the docs), "Made with Replit" badge. | Free plan: 5 build credits a day plus 10 at sign-up, up to 3 companies, no card. Publishing to a live URL starts on Pro. |
| Paid plans | Core $20 a month ($17 billed annually) with $20 toward the most powerful models; Pro $100 ($95 annually) with 10 parallel agents; Enterprise custom. Effort-based, pay-as-you-go beyond the allowance. | Pro $99 a month (250 credits), Autonomous from $399 (1,000 credits); $75 and $300 billed yearly; a Custom plan arranged on a call. 1 credit = $1; top-ups $1 each, never expire. |
| What it builds | Apps, websites, slides, dashboards, agents; unlimited published apps on Core. | A working web product with real pages, flows, copy and design; live preview while it builds; published to a Restart subdomain. |
| Backend, accounts, payments | Built-in database; Stripe and Google connectors on Core and above. | The first build uses sample data: no customer accounts or live backend yet. A Stripe payment link can be added once you connect Stripe. |
| Custom domain | Documented; plan gating not stated on the pricing page. | Custom domains are not available yet; published sites live on a Restart subdomain. |
| Code export | Not stated on the pricing page; the workspace is a full code environment. | Code export is not available yet; files are browsable in the app. You own everything you create. |
| Beyond the build | Not claimed. | Yes: positioning brief, launch pages, pricing pages, a company inbox with its own address, daily tasks, research with sources, dashboards, automations and Meta ads on paid plans. |
| Who it is for | Founders, product managers, designers, engineers, operations, IT. | Founders starting from an idea, especially people who are not engineers. |
Choose Replit if
- You want a real development environment and may hand the code to engineers soon
- You need connectors, a database and background tasks in the first version
- You are comfortable with effort-based, pay-as-you-go pricing
Choose Restart if
- You want the company, not the codebase, to be the thing you look at
- You want predictable credits: one credit is one dollar, and top-ups never expire
- You want launch pages, pricing, an inbox and daily tasks alongside the product
What Restart does, in one paragraph
You describe a company idea in plain language. Restart asks the one or two questions that change the build, then the Builder creates a working web product with a live preview and publishes it to a real URL when you say so. Yes: positioning brief, launch pages, pricing pages, a company inbox with its own address, daily tasks, research with sources, dashboards, automations and Meta ads on paid plans. Code export is not available yet; files are browsable in the app. You own everything you create.
Restart vs Replit: questions
What is the difference between Replit and Restart?
Replit is a development platform with an AI agent; the unit of work is the codebase. Restart is a company builder; the unit of work is the company, with the product as its first artifact. Replit is deeper on engineering; Restart is broader on everything around it.
Which is cheaper for a non-technical founder?
Both start free. Replit Core is $20 a month with effort-based usage beyond the allowance; Restart Pro is $20 a month with 100 credits at one dollar each and top-ups that never expire. Checked September 7, 2026.